Home Page

Databases

Main Menu

Databases

Find the information you need on a variety of topics without ever leaving your home. Use the resources listed below to access articles from magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias on topics that range from art to zoology. Most of these databases will require that you login with your C/W MARS library card. Others require no registration. To access these databases, your browser must be set to enable Java and JavaScript and to accept cookies.


Art

  1. Grove Art Online - Entire text of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. It includes over 1500 thumbnail art images and line drawings that are displayed in the text. There are also links to searchable image databases and links to over 40,000 art images on museum and gallery web sites around the world.

Auto Repair

  1. EBSCO Auto Repair Center - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - contains drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules for most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.

Biographies

  1. InfoTrac - Biography Resource Center - includes information from Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of American Biography. A guide to more than one million past and present noteworthy figures with more than 20,000 photographs.

Books

  1. Book Index with Reviews - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - contains information on over 3.8 million book titles in a wide range of formats.

Business

  1. InfoTrac - General Business File ASAP - Analyze company performance, research all business topics, plus a directory of over 150,000 companies and investment reports.
  2. Small Business Reference Center - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - This database provides a wealth of information about small business, including business topics, business types, sample business plans, and "how to" information.
  3. Business Listings - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - Search for companies by name or do a custom search by combining a number of categories, such as geography (city or state), yellow page heading or industry, business size, year established and others. Information on companies includes estimated annual sales, credit rating score, corporate family tree, other lines of business, competitors report and much more.

Education

  1. InfoTrac - Educator's Reference Complete - a collection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources covering every educational specialty.
  2. Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - This database can help you choose a college, find a scholarship or an internship, choose a career, and much more.
  3. LearningExpressLibrary.com - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only.) - for GED, SAT, GRE, Firefighter, Police Officer and many more career/educational tests. This database gives you previews of the official exams. Receive instant scoring and personalized analysis.

Health

  1. InfoTrac - Health Reference Center Academic - find articles on current consumer information about fitness, medicine, nutrition, alcohol and drug abuse, pregnancy, and much more.

History

  1. Ancient and Medieval History - (must use a Jones Library card) - Provides biographies, maps and charts, timelines, images and videos, and primary sources.
  2. Facts.com - Issues & Controversies in American History (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - A resource that offers clear, concise, and balanced explanations of issues in American history. It includes biographies, timelines, background articles, photographs, maps and primary documents.
  3. InfoTrac - Massachusetts History Online - contains full-text articles from almost 50 sources relating to Massachusetts history.
  4. Facts on File, Inc. - (must use a Jones Library card) - Each of the three databases listed below span more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. They contains biographies, maps & charts, primary sources, timelines, an image gallery and more.

Issues and Controversies

  1. FACTS.com - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - Includes reports on today's top issues, e.g., assisted suicide; Antiterrorism Policies and Civil Liberties; Medicine and Religion; and Human Cloning. Useful for students writing research papers.

Literature

  1. InfoTrac - Contemporary Literary Criticism Select - critical essays on the works of contemporary authors.
  2. Literary Resource Center - Provides information on thousands of authors and their works. It contains the full-text of 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more.

Magazines & Newspapers

  1. EBSCOhost - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - Offers access to a database of 400 journals in full text, plus indexing to over 515 additional periodicals. The database also contains indexing to newspapers, encyclopedias, and pamphlets. Very easy to use.

  2. InfoTrac - General Reference Center Gold - an index to popular culture and current events in magazines, reference books, and newspapers from 1980-present. Expanded Academic - academic journals from arts to technology, newsmagazines, newspapers, reference texts and images. New York Times - from 1995 to the present. Student Edition - Magazines, newspapers, and reference books indexed for high school student use. Also available in the Junior Edition for students in junior high and middle school and the Kids Edition for elementary school students. Professional - Magazines for educators and school administrators.

  3. Proquest - Full-text articles from the Massachusetts newspapers listed below:

Boston Globe (1980-)
Berkshire Eagle (2005-)
Boston Herald (1991-)
Business West (1992-)
North Adams Transcript (2005-)
Patriot Ledger (1991-)

Plymouth County Business Review (1991-)
Sentinel & Enterprise (2005-)
The Sun (2004-)
Telegram & Gazette (1989-)
Gazette (12/31/92 - 8/9/07)
Standard Times (1/4/92 - 8/19/97)

  1. Newsbank - (requires Jones Library card) - Retrieve full-text articles from the newspapers listed below. Graphics from the articles have not been included.

The Arizona Republic, Phoenix (1999-)
Berkshire Eagle (2004-)
Boston Globe (1980-)
Cape Cod Times (Nov. 1998-)
Chicago Tribune (1985-)
Dallas Morning News (1984-)
Denver Post (Jun. 1989-)
Detroit Free Press (1982-)

Greenfield Recorder (Feb. 1994-)
Hartford Courant (Jul. 1991-)
New York Times (2000-)
Orlando Sentinel (1985-)
Seattle Times (1985-)
Springfield Republican (1988-)
Washington Post (1977-)
Worcester Telegram & Gazette (1989-)


Online Tests

  1. LearningExpressLibrary.com - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only.) - for GED, SAT, GRE, Firefighter, Police Officer and many more career/educational tests. This database gives you previews of the official exams. Receive instant scoring and personalized analysis.

Reading Suggestions

  1. NoveList - (requires Jones Library card) - This reader's advisory service is for fiction readers of all ages. You can browse through lists which are arranged by themes, e.g. adventure, romance, mysteries and thrillers, science fiction, westerns, horror, and fantasy. You can also enter a favorite author or title and find similar books. Other options let you look through award lists, or search by keywords. In addition, book discussion guides are included for some of the titles.

Science

  1. Today's Science - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - covers topics such as the environment, life science, physical science, and technology. Includes related Internet sites for more information. Two sections offered are "Science in the Headlines" and "Hot Topics." Useful for students writing research papers.
  2. Science Online - (must use a Jones Library card) - This resource contains extensive information on a broad range of science disciplines. It provides over 3,300 diagrams, more than 600 experiments, 2,500 biographies, 6,000 essays, and 29,000 definitions and also includes links to related topics.

Telephone Directories

  1. Business Listings - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - Search for companies by name or do a custom search by combining a number of categories, such as geography (city or state), yellow page heading, business size, and others. Information on companies includes business size, year established, management directory, and much more.
  2. Residential Listings - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only) - Search for people by name (partial or complete), address, or phone number.

World News

  1. World News Digest - (Available to Jones Library cardholders only.) - Search for world events all the way back to 1940. Added bonuses include the World Alamanc Encyclopedia and the World Almanac Reference Database.
The Jones Library, the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, Massachusetts Regional Library Systems, and the C/W MARS network fund home access to library research databases.

For more resources, try our Research Links



This page last updated on Apr. 14, 2008.