Databases for Kids
Need to do some research or find some magazine articles for a school project? Here's a great place to start. Use one of these databases to find articles on your topic!
Kids InfoBits
(Available to C/W MARS cardholders.) This database is especially for beginning researchers in grades K - 5. It covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
InfoTrac Junior Edition
(Available to C/W MARS cardholders.) This database is mainly for junior high and middle school students grades 5-12. It covers current events, the arts, science , popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
InfoTrac Student Edition
(Available to C/W MARS cardholders.) This database is for high school students in grades 9-12. It has materials covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Student Resources in Context
(Available to C/W MARS cardholders.) Covers all core curriculum areas with reference materials, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia. Content based on national curriculum standards.
Facts on File
(Available to Jones cardholders only.) This collection of databases by Facts on File includes World News Digest, Issues and Controversies, Today's Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia. It's a great resource for older students, especially on current events or issues topics.
LearningExpress
(Available to Jones cardholders only.) This database can help elementary, middle school, and high school students improve math and reading skills using practice exercises, as well as practice and diagnostic tests. To register, use your library card number as your user name, then make up a password.
VerbaLearn
(Available to Jones Library cardholders only.) Improve your general vocabulary, or prepare for standardized tests, such as the ACT, GRE, or SAT, for ESL, or middle school or high school grade level vocabulary. Work through a course and build a studylist. Choose which review tool to use for effective vocabulary building.
This page last updated on November 6, 2010.